Waco Burglary Lawyer McLennan County Burglary Attorney


Burglary Attorney in McLennan County
Thomas C. West is a board certified criminal defense lawyer and former McLennan County prosecutor. His experience as an assistant McLennan County District Attorney in burglary cases can help provide important strategy and spot weakness in the prosecution’s case. Call him at 254-753-6437 for a free 30 minute consultation.

Charged with Burglary in Waco?
Burglary is defined as: Entering a habitation, a building, or any part of a building not open to the public and without consent of the property owner, with the intent to commit a felony, a theft, or an assault, Remaining concealed in a building or habitation with the intent to commit a felony, a theft, or an assault, or Entering a building or habitation and committing or attempting to commit a felony, theft, or an assault. It is important to note that if any part of the body or any object being held or somehow attached to the body of the burglar has entered the building, the person may still be charged with burglary.

Burglary of a Habitation in McLennan County
Burglary of a habitation is a second degree felony punishable by 2-20 years in prison. However, burglary of a habitation becomes a first degree felony punishable by 5-99 years or life if: The premises are a habitation; AND Any party to the offense entered the habitation with intent to commit a felony OTHER THAN felony theft or committed or attempted to commit a felony other than felony theft. Therefore, the use of a deadly weapon in the burglary of the habitation can contribute to the intent to commit a felony other than felony theft but does not by itself make the burglary of a habitation a first degree felony. The exception to this would be if the person carrying the deadly weapon was a felon because a felon in possession of a firearm is a felony in Texas.

Burglary of a Vehicle in Waco
Another common Texas burglary offense is burglary of a vehicle. This occurs when a person breaks into or enters a car without the owner’s permission, with intent to commit a felony or a theft. Generally this is a Class A misdemeanor and carries a potential 1 year in jail. However, if a person has two or more similar convictions on his or her record, that person can be charged with a state jail felony and face 2 years in a state jail. Texas Burglary Penalties Being charged with burglary in Texas means severe penalties and lifelong consequences as Texas is one of the strictest states for crime and punishment. Charges could result in life imprisonment. A burglary charge is not the same as a burglary conviction. There are options.

Need a Waco Burglary Lawyer
If you have been accused of burglary in McLennan County, you need to call an attorney experienced handling these charges. Burglary defense attorney Thomas West is a former prosecutor who used to bring burglary charges against Defendants. He is board certified in Criminal Law, which is a distinction held by very few criminal defense attorneys. If you need an aggressive criminal defense lawyer in Waco, call Thomas West at 254-753-6437.