DWLI Attorney Waco McLennan County Driving While License Invalid Lawyer


DWLI Waco McLennan County Suspended License Attorney
It may seem like there are no other options other than to drive with a suspended license, but with the potential penalties involved if you are caught, it is difficult to justify taking that chance.

A large number of McLennan County residents are pulled over and charged with driving while license suspended. This criminal offense comes with extensive legal sanctions and penalties, including significant license surcharges, making the defense of this charge vital. With the help of a Waco DWLI criminal defense attorney, you can argue your case in an effective and professional manner, and potentially find ways to get the charges reduced or dismissed.

Driving While License Suspended Waco DWLI
The Driving while license suspended offense is located in Section 521 of the Texas Transportation Code. According to §521.457, a person commits the offense of driving while license invalid (suspended) if they operate a motor vehicle on a highway:

  • After the persons driver’s license has been canceled;
  • During a period that the person’s drivers license or privilege is suspended or revoked under any law of this state;
  • While the persons drivers license is expired if the license expired during a period of suspension; or
  • After renewal of the person’s driver’s license has been denied under any law of this state.

It is not a defense to prosecution that the defendant did not receive actual notice of a suspension imposed as a result of another traffic offense conviction.

The charge of driving while license suspended is considered a Class B misdemeanor. If convicted of this charge, the presumptive sentence is up to 6 months (180 days) in jail and / or a maximum fine of between $100 and $500.

McLennan County DWLI Attorney
Waco DWLI lawyer Thomas West is a former prosecutor and board-certified in criminal law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. He has helped many people arrested in Waco for driving with a suspended license. Call him at 254-753-6437 to discuss your McLennan County DWLI.